latest entry older entries sign my guestbook



me as a powerpuff girl

thinking out of the little black box

07.12.01 - 2:03 p.m.

Not that I put much credence in awards, but why do none of my favorite TV shows ever get any kind of recognition? I know I�m not the first to say this � it�s a topic harped on by many at the E! network � but it�s glaringly apparent when looking at this year�s Emmy nominations, and last year�s, and the year before that, and�

It�s not that I don�t enjoy The West Wing or the Sopranos (the few times I�ve seen it). I�ve even watched a few episodes of Malcolm in the Middle in times of desperation. But what makes Tony Soprano opening up to Dr. Melfi any better than the Scooby gang�s reaction to the death of Buffy�s mother, or Larry making a snowman for Ally McBeal any more romantic than Ed throwing waffles at Carol�s window?

My favorite shows are well-acted and well-written. They equal, if not surpass, the poignancy of any of those nominated, and I dare anyone who is turned off by the fact that they�re on the WB, or have stupid titles, or characters with stupid haircuts, just to watch for one episode.

Forget shallow, overly angsty Dawson and his Creek. Frasier, ER and most of the NBC network are beating dead horses. It�s time to broaden a few horizons. An Emmy for Willow! An Emmy for the Host! And more than anything, AN EMMY FOR WARREN!

However, it is my distinct pleasure to inform you that the one, the only, the Powerpuff Girls are nominated in the Animated Program (Less than One Hour) category, as is Wayne Brady of Whose Line is it Anyway? for Individual Performance in a Variety or Music Program. So there is some justice in this world.

the night before - the morning after

Copyright � 2000-2004 Brkfstfnys

email me see my profile Diaryland main page