latest entry older entries sign my guestbook



me as a powerpuff girl

two concerts in four days

10.03.03 - 2:21 p.m.

Gah. How does the fucking office always get in the way of writing a perfectly normal entry?

Yesterday I was so angry I kicked a 24-pack of Cottonelle across the kitchen, causing a minor explosion. That's me. Even in my darkest moments of torment, I show my respect for my neighbors by choosing not to hit a wall, or throw my heels against the fridge, but to take my rage out on an unsuspecting block of t.p.

So now I am one of those people who have seen Bruce play "Rosalita" more than once, while there are fans out there who have still never heard it live. It's like the starving children in Africa. I have enough! Can't I share it with someone more deserving? And I am such a crochety old woman for saying this, but the concert at Shea was so much better than the one at Giants Stadium in August. And the people around us were SO well-behaved -- apart from the smell of skunk, no one was smoking. No one was singing off-key and loudly. We were not threatened. Though we did seem to be in a non-dancing section for half the show, when everyone finally rose to their feet, they stayed there for a good long while.

I am a completely cranky woman. But thank you, Dan, for making me see Bruce again. It was worth the second show.

I was going to make a fantasy list of what I'd like to see R.E.M. play tomorrow night. But after looking through a bunch of their recent set lists, I think I'll be happy with whatever they decide. Last time I saw them was on the Monster tour (Bill's last tour with the band) and admittedly, that wasn't my favorite album, which they relied on for a lot of their material. But now it's the greatest hits album they're plugging, so they'll be covering a lot of ground.

A few interesting tidbits I've seen on the lists:
Shaking Through
Maps and Legends
Find the River
Exhuming McCarthy

and a few that weren't that I'd STILL like to see:
Disturbance at the Heron House
Turn You Inside-Out
Flowers of Guatemala

I believe I will email them now....

the night before - the morning after

Copyright � 2000-2004 Brkfstfnys

email me see my profile Diaryland main page