latest entry older entries sign my guestbook



me as a powerpuff girl

resolute

01.10.05 - 11:29 a.m.

Unexpectedly waking up with the flu on a Sunday morning gives one tremendous opportunities not available to the healthy population. The opportunity to call in sick and watch Spice World at 10 in the morning, for example. Oh, Posh. Oh, Alan Cumming.

Being healthy has unexpected advantages as well, though. Such as being able to pick up lunch from Otto, as I did on Friday, because I happened to be in the neighborhood and remembered (through extensive mooning over their website) that they offered take-out and delivery all day. One spaghettini siciliana for me, please!

I've been fighting this stupid flu/cold for almost a month now. Waking up last Saturday, I really thought it had found me, but after many naps, hours of lounging, watching Seinfeld and playing many games of Trivial Pursuit, Cranium and Scattergories (all of which I won at least once, thank you), I determined it was only your garden-variety New Year's hangover. I recovered, we made it home from Boston, I got into another weird fight with my dad, and went on with 2005.

This year, I have two resolutions:
1. Get married.
2. Not get fired.

Well, since I'm definitely going to do the first and I'm really in no danger of needing to worry about the second, perhaps I should amend to something a little more challenging. Ahem:

1. Return my friends' emails and phone calls in a timely manner.
2. Get a raise?

There we go. A little more difficult to complete, but still within the realm of possibility. My resolutions for today are:
1. Finish reading through Michael Chiarello's Casual Cooking
2. Write up my post-Christmas meals in the city on Turophile
3. Revise a press release, thereby filling my work quota for today despite my sickness
4. Eat more turkey bacon?

These can all be accomplished from the couch while wearing the best old green robe ever and staying warm underneath the best orange fleecy blanket ever. Which should be criteria for everything one wants to accomplish in life.

the night before - the morning after

Copyright � 2000-2004 Brkfstfnys

email me see my profile Diaryland main page