latest entry older entries sign my guestbook



me as a powerpuff girl

music survey #2

01.26.05 - 11:26 p.m.

Who am I to argue with the wishes of Lady Heather? As per her request, here are my answers to the latest music survey:

1. What is the total amount of music files on your computer?
On my computer proper, 1.48 gb or 365 songs. On my iPod, where I store most of it, about 18 gb or 4884 songs.

2. The last CD you bought is:
I went on a mini-binge a few weeks ago and bought Give Up by the Postal Service, Grand Prix by Teenage Fanclub, and Beautysleep by Tanya Donelly. In a surprising turn, the new music (Postal Service) is getting more play than the older stuff on my stereo. Remind me to tell this to my officemates, who laugh at me for continually listening to '90s staples like Better Than Ezra and the Lemonheads while I write countless releases.

3. What is the song you last listened to before this message?
I'm assuming this doesn't include the Daily Show theme song, which blared through my TV a few minutes ago. Dorkily enough, I decided to learn the song names to the Postal Service album by listening to them straight through on my bus ride home tonight, then didn't put any music on when I got home because I was already late for Alias. So the last song through actual speakers into my ears was "Clark Gable." It's a relatively short bus ride.

4. Write down five songs you often listen to or that mean a lot to you.
I'm going with songs that mean a lot to me because I'm rather addicted to the mass shuffle function on Pierre le Pod, which doesn't always mean I hear my favorites often. These are songs that evoke a deep, visceral reaction within me - nostalgia, love, sadness, take your pick. These are some of the many songs that have very specific associations for me:

The Luckiest, Ben Folds
Nightswimming, R.E.M.
Babylon, David Gray
Chloe Dancer/Crown of Thorns, Mother Love Bone
Wonderwall, Oasis

5. Who are you gonna pass this stick to (three persons and why)?
I'll ask Bassie, because she is now the one who listens to the cutting-edge stuff (oh, you crazy kids), but I won't ask anyone else because none of my friends are aware of this site other than the ones who have already done this survey. What can I say? I'm still a private, paranoid person.

the night before - the morning after

Copyright � 2000-2004 Brkfstfnys

email me see my profile Diaryland main page