latest entry older entries sign my guestbook



me as a powerpuff girl

why am i not a former child star?

01.14.02 - 5:42 p.m.

What do I want to write about today? How about my addiction to movie soundtracks, especially (hee - I almost wrote exspecially), but not limited to, Cameron Crowe movies? I haven't even seen Vanilla Sky yet and I'm still want the soundtrack. I just burned Almost Famous - minus "Something in the Air," because it kept fucking up my burner - AND Dan just bought me the aforementioned I Am Sam, so that should technically hold me for a while. But I still want The Royal Tenenbaums too.

But it's fun to eat crepes on Sunday morning with the whole house and Dan and his sister and Dave, and it's so nice to have easy-going roommates who don't mind when you bring unexpectedly drunk people home to stay on the pullout. Because Jess and I got Dave rocked on wine, not like that was a difficult task, but it was funny nonetheless. And took them to the little bar that Mustafa and I discovered with the stamped tin walls and ceiling, the bar that others think is kind of dark and odd but I like and that they liked too.

Last night I watched Annie before I went to bed, and I actually made it the entire way through without falling asleep. That is amazing. I can't even make it through an entire movie in the theatre anymore. And the things I realized! Like Crazy Carl from Billy Madison is the dogcatcher, and Ed Herrmann, one of Bucknell's few famous alums, is President Roosevelt! I've been listening to him sing on the soundtrack my whole life.

Then I thought of how I used to dress up in my Annie wig and dresses (I had both the famous red dress and a ratty orphan ensemble) and sing and dance, and wondered why my parents never got me voice lessons or forced me into anything except stupid ballet. (Which I did like for a while.) I would have been good - I really was such the little ham. Now it's too late and I can only sing in my shower or to the E-Kara.

They offered Carey her position full-time. I sincerely hope she takes it, even though I know it's not her dream job. Hell, it's not mine either, but it's something to do.

the night before - the morning after

Copyright � 2000-2004 Brkfstfnys

email me see my profile Diaryland main page