latest entry older entries sign my guestbook



me as a powerpuff girl

accomplishments and clumsiness

08.07.04 - 12:27 p.m.

And you thought I was doing nothing this entire week, didn't you?

Sadly, that is not the case. I was once again fighting the black hole of ineptitude that is my most difficult client, writing a release on a really obscure scholarly show that no one will write about or want to see... oh yeah, and teaching myself five chords on the guitar! Finally! Only a year and change has gone by since I put THAT goal on my list.

Technically, I haven't accomplished the goal yet, since I can only play the five open chords, and badly, and that doesn't even constitute knowing a song, but at least I picked the damn thing up. I don't even have calluses yet, but the tips of my fingers have been numb all week. I'm taking that to be a good sign and not a warning that I'll have to amputate.

I was also taking my first fall in the subway. I've been here nigh on three years and have not once slipped in the treacherous subterranean passageways - until Wednesday. Technically, I wasn't even in the subway yet, I was on an escalator going into the bowels of Columbus Circle, when my stupid Kors sandals decided to not give me any traction on the steps. Basically I ended up falling on my ass and sitting on the escalator stair, and it could have been way more embarrassing - there were barely any people around, unheard of in that place, but lucky for me. And all I suffered was a tiny cut on the top of my big toe (!) and scraped nail polish. Unlike Carey D, who fell down the stairs at the Bryant Park stop whilst drunk and banged up her knee right good. I should be happy that a) it took me so long to be an idiot and b) I escaped relatively unscathed.

I've also instituted the aforementioned food blog/diary, which can be found here. I'm not sure how this will affect what I write here, as I am prone to tangents of food-related blathering, or what exactly I will focus on there - restaurants? My cooking adventures? A little of everything? The idea germinated whilst at Babbo, when Dan and I were discussing our complete lack of certainty as to what would be our BEST. MEAL. EVER. I became very sad that I hadn't kept a record of everywhere I'd ever eaten, since I've been traveling and pigging out all over the globe since my first trip to New York at age seven. (Actually, I remember some chicken tenders in Florida prior to that trip that were quite tasty as well.)

So, we'll see what it becomes. But I plan on taking more copious notes on my food activities from now on.

the night before - the morning after

Copyright � 2000-2004 Brkfstfnys

email me see my profile Diaryland main page