latest entry older entries sign my guestbook



me as a powerpuff girl

mid-august malaise

08.15.04 - 5:42 p.m.

Another wedding weekend following an extremely busy work week (is there any other kind at this point? I'm a little disappointed that everyone's promises of an easy summer did not pan out. What is going to happen in the fall?) means that I am again exhausted on Sunday night and not ready to start another ass-kicking week tomorrow.

Monday: A disastrous attempt at making monkfish for myself followed by a more successful attempt at making chicken fingers for Dan was the focus of my evening. I ended up having Cheerios and cheese rather than mooch off Dan's plate. He still has chickie fingers in the fridge, so I probably should have just stolen them when they were fresh.

Tuesday: I didn't realize that the concert I agreed to see with Ilana was A) at the Bowery Ballroom and B) was scheduled to put the headliner on stage at 10:30. That is WAY past my bedtime on a school night. So we saw part of the first band, all of the second (the poor man's Pat McGee) and four songs of Ari Hest, the main guy. I cannot hang around with the college kids anymore, sitting on the floor listening soulfully to the stoner on the guitar. I am too old and too tired for this shit. I took a $7 dollar cab to the W 4th St stop, then to the bus. Coupled with my dinner and the ticket, it was a near-$40 waste of an evening.

Wednesday: dinner with Lisa and Kathleen, which was cheap, fun, and gave me my first viewing of "The Player." Truly the best worst show on television right now, and source of ALL my favorite new phrases. "Play on, playahs!" The only thing that disappoints me is that there are not more people on the show with unnecessary apostrophes in their names. Maybe we can give Jinelle one just for fun. Jin'elle? Definitely much better.

Thursday: dinner with Kerry, Matt, Denise, and Dave at the Spotted Pig. No celebrities spotted. Drinks at the White Horse. Definitely no celebrities spotted. Then back to the apartment for simultaneous Aqua Teen and Homestar watching. Then passing out.

Friday: in bed by 10 p.m.

Saturday: the wedding. Many gimlets, many glasses of champagne. I wore my senior prom dress (!) with my Vera Wang shoes. I was told that I am "serious" - a word I'd never use to describe myself, but believe that it was intended in a kind way. Whether this is a more interesting compliment than being called "contemplative" or told that I "have an expressive face" I have yet to determine. It's one for the record books, though. Dan danced, as did Dan's dad. Matt questioned my deep aversion to all wedding cliches, specifically the awful songs that are wedding staples. This may have been when the male band member with the falsetto voice was singing, which would have explained a lot of that conversation, but I may have come off as a grumpy snob.

Which I suppose I am, especially when it comes to weddings, but I hope Matt knows that none of my comments were reflective of the time I had at his wedding. Which was fun and they mixed their own songs on his computer. In fact, I think it is awesome.

the night before - the morning after

Copyright � 2000-2004 Brkfstfnys

email me see my profile Diaryland main page