latest entry older entries sign my guestbook



me as a powerpuff girl

howie shows

10.26.04 - 9:35 p.m.

I don't know if it 's comforting or creepy that the last time I saw Howie (before last week) was two years ago, and he's still doing basically the same set.

Of course he plays some new stuff from his album, but he did a lot of oldies when he played last Thursday, with the same cover songs, like "One," stuck in the middle. He did some Coldplay, but sadly refrained from Toto or "My Heart Will Go On." I think he might have only done 3 or 4 new tunes and stuck to stuff like "Morning After" and "After You" for the rest of the set. Not that I'm complaining. That's some good shit right there.

One thing I did notice is that he's a lot less jokey between songs now. His banter is reduced, sometimes nonexistent from one song to the next. He fully admits he's a guy from Maine, not from Dublin, or Sydney, or your mom's house, or whatever town he used to try and pull a fast one over the audience with. I doubt Dan recognized any of this, as this was his first Howie show (he was an HD virgin! Can you believe it?) but the Howie experience got his seal of approval nonetheless.

Of course, Dan's favorite live act (and recorded act) is Bruce, who also has a formula/cult. Hell, they even have fist-pumping choreography, so I'm sure he can understand the fandom of a Howie show. I don't know which I prefer. Sure, everyone wants to hear their favorite song, especially when the newest album isn't the most winning thing the musician has ever released (R.E.M. circa Monster, I'm looking at you), but it's nice to get a never-heard gem every once in a while, especially when you do go to multiple shows of the same band. Actually, the best? Is that I'm going to shut up now, as I've had too many tasty tasty Gritty McDuff's Vacationland Ale for one evening.

Unrelated, but must be mentioned since I'm watching TV: Oh, Olive Garden. Your stuffed chicken marsala/chicken limone commercial makes me want to vomit in ways I've never imagined. And oh, Colby, why the Schick Quattro ad? Your hottness can be used for good, not evil!

the night before - the morning after

Copyright � 2000-2004 Brkfstfnys

email me see my profile Diaryland main page