latest entry older entries sign my guestbook



me as a powerpuff girl

rooting for the underdog

10.28.04 - 7:43 a.m.

Dear Cardinals Fans,
Please don't be too sad. You couldn't do anything, really - as Oedipus knows, it's very difficult to fight fate. And on the night of a lunar eclipse, no less!

I don't typically write about baseball (I leave that to my baby), but I do love rooting for the underdog and I especially love a good mythology story. The Red Sox win had all the elements. And as I've been saying since the ALCS win, it's almost as if they planned it - letting the Yankees think they were going to sweep, then quietly turning up the power and snatching victory from right under their noses. I also love a good revenge story.

So the Johnny Damon pumpkin has done its job, staying proudly lit these last two nights, and can now go to its pumpkin rest. With any luck, I'll get a good night's sleep tonight and go back to ignoring most professional sports until the Pirates make their improbable comeback. And though Yankee fans will find a new reason to dismiss the win, the fact is that it happened. It wasn't impossible after all.

the night before - the morning after

Copyright � 2000-2004 Brkfstfnys

email me see my profile Diaryland main page