latest entry older entries sign my guestbook



me as a powerpuff girl

birthday plans

02.26.05 - 8:32 p.m.

The only good thing I can say about Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason is that I very much enjoyed seeing the John Currin paintings. Everything else made me want to throw large tubs of ice cream at the TV. Luckily, Death Cold 2005: The Sequel made any movement off the couch impossible, so the TV escaped my wrath.

Throughout DC 2005: The Sequel, I was craving a nice dry ros�. This was highly confusing to my poor drug-addled mind, since I consider it a summer wine and most often associate it with a lovely moment at the bar at Craft, but perhaps I was dehydrating myself with all the strange over-the-counter pills I was pumping into my system. After attempting to sublimate this desire by buying a case of Malbec, I caved last night and ended up not only with the ros� but with a bottle of Vin Santo (for those other happy summer moments that remind me of sitting on the patio of the Gallo Nero on Bleecker) and some other dessert wine that tasted rich, nutty, raisiny and not overly sweet. What has this cold done to me?

Just reread that last paragraph and realized how incredibly boring it is to everyone except myself. Tough beans.

I am putting way too much thought into birthday plans for next Friday. I'm not the type of person who expects or even likes a big deal of attention - please also see panic attacks related to wedding - but since my actual birthday falls on an actual Friday, I feel I should deviate from the standard "celebration." Which is me, on the couch drinking a bottle of champagne while Dan watches me get shitfaced and laughs at me. A good time for all!

But no, this time I am going to get shitfaced amongst friends. All I have to do is choose a bar that also offers some food options and with any luck, people will show up. It's not so hard! I can do this! I have non-fond memories of my birthday in Chicago, the last time I attempted any kind of major dinner party/night out celebration, and nothing can be worse than that evening. Or the day/hangover after.

the night before - the morning after

Copyright � 2000-2004 Brkfstfnys

email me see my profile Diaryland main page