latest entry older entries sign my guestbook



me as a powerpuff girl

she's taking a sick day...soon

03.20.02 - 1:29 p.m.

Bassett and I are SO going to Epcot when we're in Florida. We'll go on the boat ride in Mexico with Leroy the big rock face and the lady who heckles you to buy her wares and the fake fireworks. We'll go on Spaceship Earth and The Land and all the other rides that I hope are completely cheesy and out-of-date because that's the way I like my Epcot. We'll even ride the monorail through that big building and look at all the people eating in the food court.

But there is one thing we will not do, and that is visit the Hall of Presidents. Unless I am in need of a nap. Animatronic George Washington! Creepy!

It was raining sideways on me during my 15-minute walk to the Path this morning and so windy that my pretty Caillebotte umbrella actually turned inside out once. Adding insult to injury, the first thing Jack said to me when I walked in the door was, "Do you know what your life is? The Fountains of Wayne song 'Sick Day'!" Which is true, and which I had just been lamenting a few weeks ago while in the car with Kerry and Dan. So sad, so sad that even Jack recognizes it.

Dan left for his Florida trip this morning at 6am, which will be good for him even though he won't be able to go to Epcot. I cried, as I am wont to do in these circumstances, and then I went back to bed for three more hours. I had weird dreams.

Check out the girl in the Harbor Tunnel crawling to work six feet under
And the day has just begun - they're all chewing gum, and laughing at the voice on the crackling radio station
'Lead us not into Penn Station'
Cause the best part's just begun - we're all becoming one again

And she's making the scene with her coffee and cream, and the copy machine's not working
She's a hell of a girl, she's alone in her world, and she likes to say, "Hey, good-looking"
She's on her way - she's taking a sick day
Soon

And here is the man pushing paper past her, thinks up ways to make the day go faster
But the day goes on and on - he dreams of his lawn, and all about the pretty careerist the next cube over
The fat secretary, the lunchtime lover till the Path train finally comes
The platform's full of bums again....

the night before - the morning after

Copyright � 2000-2004 Brkfstfnys

email me see my profile Diaryland main page