latest entry older entries sign my guestbook



me as a powerpuff girl

i live in a storage shed, thanks

06.24.02 - 6:13 p.m.

We DO have a water cooler here! My life is complete.

I hereby quote from the email I wrote Moom this morning, since it covers all the bases and I don't have the energy to relive the weekend yet again:

Moving was such a tragedy - first no one would rent me a carpet cleaner on Saturday because I have a PA driver's license. (hee - I just wrote "licence" as if I were British!) Luckily, the ghetto Pathmark didn't seem to care so I got one there and it was on sale. Then the oven cleaner thing. Then the cable box man never came so Kerry had to take it back to NYC with her to MAIL to the cable company. Then I drove to Cyndi and Graham's party and it took me a half hour to find a parking space in Hoboken.

But the party was nice, and that was Saturday.

On Sunday, Dan and I woke up and drove to the U Haul place. It was a little scary but we got the truck. Dave showed up, we started moving stuff, had dollies so it wasn't too bad, until Dan realized we probably should just rent a storage space because it would be safer and cleaner than the basement and closer than Mr and Mrs Dan's. OK, honey, but the storage place closes at 2 and it's 12:30 already.

So off Dave and I go to rent a storage space. We make it there at 1:40, but it takes the man an hour to get a code programmed for us so we can get into the building at any time. Then we have to go up to the new place to grab my Master lock, so we can lock my bed and shelves in on our way to the apartment.

We do all of this, but when we're trying to get my armoire up the stairs to the apartment, it won't fit. Can't even get it past the first landing. So at this point I give up and we put EVERYTHING in the storage space except for my couch, the chair with no friend, and my small bookshelf. I don't know where I'm going to keep my clothes for the next 4 months but I don't care anymore. There's another nick in my armoire, Dad just shouldn't have given it to me but I have it now so what am I going to do, maybe someday when I actually have money I can get the little bit refinished or something. Dan feels really really bad about it because I told them fifty million times this is the ONLY PIECE I care about so please be gentle, but it happened and I have to live with it now. SIGH.

But now that we have this storage space I am going to make the most of it - going to put suitcases, etc. in there after our vacation, it's climate-controlled so I can keep clothes in there as well. So that's where the boots and winter shoes are going to go, since it is just down the road from us and much more convenient than Dan's parents house.

I'm just tired of this and wonder how much money we're really saving by doing this. It's all hindsight of course but you can see my frustration.

That is all for now. Cyndi and Graham have the cutest cat! His name is Potter and he's long-haired and orange, kind of Persian like, all fluffy and chubby, only 2 years old and he has the flattest most scrunched up face ever. His nose is so small! I LOVE HIM. So I will go play with him instead of getting a cat of our own. Yay!

And for the record, I have spent approximately $450 on the move so far, so it IS a cheaper option. That makes me feel better.

the night before - the morning after

Copyright � 2000-2004 Brkfstfnys

email me see my profile Diaryland main page