latest entry older entries sign my guestbook



me as a powerpuff girl

music of the '80s and '90s

11.05.03 - 5:03 p.m.

In keeping with my I Love the 80s Strikes Back obsession, and in keeping with my love of procrastination, especially on company time, I took the latest online '80s quiz. I scored 107.5! Huzzah!

Well, it really wasn't all that fair, since some of the questions were worth more than one point. But I don't believe I received any bonus points, despite getting two out of three right, because I am in fact a child of the '80s and so it should be easier for me to remember these things. Or so the crazy scoring logic goes. But huzzah none the less. I will do so well on a game show someday.

Those fuckers at New York magazine. Right after I give up on waiting for the good subscription deal through Daily Candy and send in my renewal card, they send the special email. You gypped me out of four bucks, yobbos!

...a few bucks that could have been spent on shoes embroidered with a Kerouac haiku, that is. As written up (but not photographed) in Monday's WWD: Eugenia Kim is known for her madcap cloches and fedoras, and now the downtown milliner can add cobbler to her resume. Kim just launched a 12-piece shoe collection for spring that follows a whimsical approach similar to her hats. [...] one style has the words from a Jack Kerouac poem "Bee, why are you staring at me, I am not a flower" geometrically embroidered from the left to the right of each shoe.

I don't care how much it costs, I WILL have those shoes.

Monday night I finally watched the Spike Jonze director's cut DVD. He takes that Richard Koufay character a little too seriously. Possibly the funniest moment was during the "Torrance Rises" documentary, when someone (probably Roman Coppola) is filming the MTV awards performance, and the camera turns around to shoot Sofia Coppola in the row behind the camera operator. What was she thinking at that moment-- "yes, that's my husband up there on stage, wearing dorkorama glasses and a black unitard with blinking red lights. I'm so proud." Fan-freaking-tastic. I really wish they would have included the Sonic Youth "100%" video, even though he technically didn't direct it.

Then I watched the Breeders "Cannonball" video and immediately went into a nostalgic swoon for songs of my demented youth. Inspired, I raced to the CD burner and made this mix, titled "Halcyon Days." In addition to being a child of the '80s, I was also a daffy alternateen of the '90s:

1 Cannonball The Breeders
2 Deadbeat Club The B-52's
3 Slow Dog Belly
4 International Bright Young Thing Jesus Jones
5 Operation Spirit Live
6 Grey Cell Green Ned's Atomic Dustbin
7 Summer of Drugs Soul Asylum
8 A Rush and a Push and the Land Is Ours The Smiths
9 Dyslexic Heart Paul Westerberg
10 Baby's Coming Back Jellyfish
11 In My Ear Toad the Wet Sprocket
12 Confetti Lemonheads
13 2000 Light Years Away Green Day
14 Celebrate You Veruca Salt
15 Pure Lightning Seeds
16 Divine Thing Soup Dragons
17 Everyword School of Fish
18 December Teenage Fanclub
19 Far Gone and Out The Jesus and Mary Chain
20 Hayfever Trash Can Sinatras
21 Helpless Sugar
22 Laid James
23 There She Goes The La's

the night before - the morning after

Copyright � 2000-2004 Brkfstfnys

email me see my profile Diaryland main page